Award Description

The James A. Rawley Award is awarded to a distinguished book dealing with secession and/or the sectional crisis published over a two-year period. The award will be given at the annual meeting in 2019 in Louisville, KY for a book published in 2017 or 2018. Copies should be mailed to the following committee members no later than March 1, 2019.

2019 Award Committee

Nina Silber, Chair

Peter Carmichael

Kenneth W. Noe

Past Winners

2017 - Manisha Sinha
The Slave's Cause: A History of Abolition, Yale University Press, 2016

2015 - Michael Woods
Emotional and Sectional Conflict in the Antebellum United States, Cambridge University Press, 2014

2013 - Andre Fleche
The Revolution of 1861: The American Civil War in the Age of Nationalist Conflict, University of North Carolina Press, 2012

2011 - Stanley Harrold
Border War: Fighting over Slavery Before the Civil War, University of North Carolina Press, 2010

2009 - John Ashworth
Slavery, Capitalism, and Politics in the Antebellum Republic: The Coming of the Civil War, 1850-1861, Cambridge University Press, 2008

2007 - Eric H. Walter
William Lowndes Yancey and the Coming of the Civil War, University of North Carolina Press, 2006