Award Description

The Bennett H. Wall Award was established in 2000 to honor the long-term service of Bennett Wall, who served as Secretary-Treasurer of the SHA for over thirty-three years (1952-1985), and as SHA President in 1988. In keeping with Professor Wall's own scholarly contribution to southern history, the Wall Prize will be awarded to the best book published in southern business or economic history over a two-year period. The next award will be made at the annual meeting in 2018 in Birmingham, AL, for a book published in 2016-2017. Entries should be submitted to the committee members listed below before March 1, 2018.

2018 Award Committee

Walter L. Buenger, Chair
4138 Cypress Road
Bryan, TX 77807

Reiko Hillyer
Lewis and Clark College
0615 S.W. Palatine Hill Road MSC 41
Portland, OR 97219

R. Douglas Hurt
University Hall
672 Oval Drive
Purdue University
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907

Past Winners

2016 - N. D. B. Connolly
A World More Concrete: Real Estate and the Remaking of Jim Crow South Florida, University of Chicago Press, 2014

2014 - Kari Frederickson
Cold War Dixie: Militarization and Modernization in the American South, University of Georgia Press, 2013

2012 - Rebecca Sharpless
Cooking in Other Women's Kitchens, 1865-1960, University of North Carolina Press, 2010

2010 - Brian Schoen
The Fragile Fabric of Union: Cotton, Federal Politics, and the Global Origins of the Civil War, The Johns Hopkins University Press, 2009

2008 - Jack Temple Kirby
Mockingbird Song: Ecological Landscapes of the South, University of North Carolina Press, 2006

2006 - Steven Deyle
Carry Me Back: Domestic Slave Trade in American Life, Oxford University Press, 2005

2004 - Jonathan D. Martin
Divided Mastery: Slave Hiring in the American South, Harvard University Press, 2004

2002 - Curtis J. Evans
The Conquest of Labor: Daniel Pratt and Southern Industrialization, Louisiana State University Press, 2001