Accepting noms for Franklin Award

The association is now accepting nominations for one of its most prestigious awards: The John Hope Franklin Lifetime Achievement Award. Made every five years, the award recognizes an individual who has had a distinguished career in southern history, contributing significantly to scholarship in the field and exhibiting the outstanding qualities of citizenship embodied by its namesake. Committee members include Lawrence N. Powell, Tulane University; Theda Perdue, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; and Richard J.M. Blackett, Vanderbilt University. Letters of nomination should be sent to

berry's picture
About the Author

Stephen Berry is Secretary-Treasurer of the SHA and Gregory Professor of the Civil War Era at the University of Georgia. The author or editor of six books, Berry co-edits the UnCivil Wars series at University of Georgia Press with Amy Murrell Taylor and co-directs the Center for Virtual History with Claudio Saunt.